Competition Results

Novice Trophy

Name Combined Score of 4 best DPI’s Image Titles Placing
Dave Akrill 71 Baby Love
Getting up with the Sun
National Breakdown
Morning Sun
David Hope 64 2nd

Champions Colour Print (Stockton Trophy)

Name Print Title Placing
Geoff Harrison European Tree Frog 1st
Ernie Howard Trees at Croome 2nd
Malcolm Ness Huggate 3rd

Commended Colour Prints

Name Print Title
Darren McDonald A Winter’s Day
Geoff Harrison Crocothemis Erythraea Dragonfly
Graham Thurlow Blue Tit
Graham Thurlow Little Owl

Champions Colour DPI (Testey King Trophy)

Name DPI Title Placing
Darren McDonald Tea Break 1st
David Ireland Probiscus Monkey 2nd
Helen Smith Sunrise over Angkor Wat 3rd

Commended Colour DPI

Name DPI Title
Josie Latus A Summer Evening on the Wolds
Malcolm Ness South Dalton
Malcolm Ness Blue Tit

Champions Monochrome Print (Harrison Trophy)

Name Print Title Score Placing
Darren McDonald Inspection 20 1st
Ernie Howard Towards the Monument 19 2nd
Geoff Harrison Double Take on the Royal Mile 18 3rd
David ireland Hull.  Work, Rest and Play 18 3rd
Darren McDonald Last Days of Steam 18 3rd

Champions Monochrome Digitally Projected Images (Richard Pinder Trophy)

Name DPI Title Score Placing
Ernie Howard White Line 20 1st
Pete Boyes Champion 19 2nd
Malcolm Ness Isolation 18 3rd
Dick Roberts Jackdaw 18 3rd

Four Related Slides

Lots of excellent sets of images in this competition which made the judging difficult but we did have winners.

Name Set Name Placing
Graham Thurlowe Harey Moments 1st
Pete Boyes The Beasts & a Beauty 2nd
Anna Hill Under 7’s Ice Hockey 3rd

Highly commended sets were:

Malcolm Ness – ‘Blue Tits’
Dave Ireland – ‘Abandoned Houses, Scotland’
Geoff Harrison – ‘The Banded Agrion Damselfly’

York Battle

York kindly hosted the competition with Driffield being the successful club this year.

Head over to the gallery to see a selection of high scoring images and prints from DPS members.

Prints Driffield York
179 177
Digital Images 368 348
Final Result 547 525

Millennium Competition

Hornsea hosted this year’s Millenium trophy and the winning images were awarded to:

Placing Photographer Points Club
1st Place Mike Coultas 36 Focus
2nd Darren McDonald 35 Driffield
 2nd  Carl Wiles  35  Hornsea
2nd Andy Wragg 35 Wolds

Jackson Competition

Monochrome competition


Jackson Trophy

1st Last Days of Steam DarrenMcDonald
2nd Hornsea Steps Pete Boyes
3rd On the Alert Graham Thurlow


Roland Groves Trophy

1st Isolation Malcolm Ness
2nd Fungal Pyramid Graham Thurlow
3rd Impending Storm Darren McDonald

Norman Competition

This year we have joint winners, ourselves, DPS, and Wolds.  Our top images can be viewed in the gallery.




Driffield 75 Pocklington 79
Wolds 74 YFoto 76
Hornsea 69 Hornsea 74
YFoto 69 Driffield 71
Pocklington 67 F.ocus 71
F.ocus 66 Wolds 71
Beverley 61 Beverley 63

Final Result Total


Driffield 146
Pocklington 146
Wolds 145
YFoto 145
F.ocus 137
Beverley 124

Ringrose Competition


1     David Ireland     99 points  Dave’s winning images can be viewed in the Gallery

Category Title Points
Nature Green Tree Lizard 19
Transport Little Rocket NYMR 20
Portrait Kings Troop Royal Horse Artillery, The Queens Life Guard 20
Altered Image A Day at the Seaside 20
Landscape Sun Setting Canisp Assynt Scotland 20

2     Chris Mason       94 points
Ernie Howard     94 points

Best Novice     Dave Akrill

Fun Knockout Competition

An enjoyable evening had by all for this popular DPS competition.  Out of the 130+ images submitted the winner selected by club members was David Ireland with his stunning landscape image of ‘Old Man of Stor’.  View the image in the picture gallery.

Bell Trophy

A Yorkshire Coast Photographic Group (YCPG) competition held at Pocklington.

Our own club, Driffield, was the lucky winner this year. Some of our top scoring images are on view in the Gallery.

Club Score
Driffield 180
Wolds 177
Focus 176
Pocklington 172
Hornsea 166
YPhoto 146

Images from the top placings can be viewed in the Gallery

The 2000 Trophy

Winner of the 2000 Trophy is:

1     Malcolm Ness            54 points
(Images – Blue Tit, South Dalton, Huggate)

2     Darren McDonald     52 points
(Images – Time to stand and reflect, Back on shed, Chalkhill Blue on Clover

3     Dave Ireland              51 points
(Images – Steam Train 76079, Pocket Rocket, Pebble Beach, Knoydart, Winter Sunset, Kilham)

Anna Hill Best Novice

The GB Cup

DPS entered just 2 categories, in this print competition Open and Nature.  Our  overall club placings in these categories are:

11     Nature
21     Open

Our placings were above such clubs as Keighley, Halifax, Worksop and Swansea.

Our top images in the Nature Section:
Carol Ireland     Lava Heron
David Ireland    Red Kite

Our top images in the Open Section:
Daren McDonald     Shipwreck
Carol Ireland             Vinnie

Mrs Boyes Trophy (Driffield, Malton & New Earswick)

Held at Malton

1     Driffield
2     Malton
3     New Earswick

Our top Digital Projected Images:
Geoff Harrison         Red Dragon Fly
Graham Thurlow     3s a Crowd
Malcolm Ness          Great Tit

Our top Prints:
March Crabtree     Monarch of the Snowy Glen
Josie Latus              Hoverfly
Geoff Harrison      White Legged Dragon Fly

Brigg Trophy (YCPG)

1      Wolds Photographic Society
2      Driffield Photographic Society
3      Focus Camera Club, Bridlington
4      Hornsea & Leven Photography Club
5      Beverley Photographic Club
6      YFoto, Bridlington
7      Pocklington Camera Club

 Our top images:
Graham Thurlow      3s a Crowd
Malcolm Ness           Great Tit
Darren McDonald    Just Jane

Milne Shield (DPIs)

1     David Ireland       A mother’s love and Eider Duck the Farnes

2     Martyn Orford     Kestrel  and He Said They’re Smarties – Over
3     Chris Mason        Something To Do and Watching
Best Novice

Sue Foley                     Whitby Sunset and On The Phone

Milne Cup (Prints)

1     Geoff Harrison     Crocothemis Erythraea (Dragonfly) and Cloister Walk
2     Roy Vincent           Little Egret and 1940’s family day out
3     Dick Roberts         St Marys Kirkburn and How not to drive
Best Novice

Anna Hill                       Watching You Watching Me and Team Lunch Break

Oz Pom Trophy (between Driffield, F.ocus, and Edwardstown & South Coast, South Australia)

Driffield Photographic Society – jointly with F.ocus, Bridlington won this year’s competition against 2 Australian camera clubs.

Our total scores     558.2 points
South Australia       547.2

Our top images:
Maryn Orford who had the best image with Flambe the Stuntman
Martyn Orford     Chasing the Fish
Geoff Harrison     Sea Nettles
Malcolm Ness       Great Tit

Barrie Shepherdson Trophy

Congratulations to Richard Foley who took the first 3 placings with his images of:
1     Hornsea Groynes
2     Spurn Head Lighthouse
3     Spurn Point Lighthouse